top of page

Making the Gym Less Intimidating

When I first started going to the gym it was very overwhelming, which is something I was aware of when I first started. But when I decided to start being proactive about making it less intimidating for myself, that’s when I really started seeing results.


Being new to the gym is something that everyone goes through, but not everyone gets through. It’s the people who really put in the effort and those who keep going, even if it’s difficult sometimes, that make it out to the other side.


I’m not saying that to scare you, I’m saying it to give you the motivation to make it out on the other side, and for you to be able to say that you’ve completed the most important aspect of going to the gym.


As you might be able to tell, this week were talking about the ways to make the gym less intimidating! Keep reading to get some tips and tricks that I have learned and use to make the gym less intimidating!




Tip #1: Go in With a Plan


The biggest tip I can give you is going into the gym with a plan, either written down or just in your head. You will feel much more comfortable and prepared in the gym if you already know the exercises you want to do that day.


Before even stepping foot into the gym, do your research, watch videos of other people working out and if all else fails just copy someone else’s workout! We’ve all been there, trust me! By doing this it will alleviate the stress and intimidation that comes with not knowing how or what to do when you get into the gym.






Tip #2: Wear Something You’re Confident In


Another major thing that isn’t talked about enough is the power of a cute outfit! I swear whenever I wear something that I feel really confident in, it boosts my energy and makes me more excited to go to the gym that day.


The gym is 10x better when you’re comfortable in what you’re wearing, and I always say, if you look good you feel good! Which is one of the most important things when you’re first getting into the gym.






Tip #3: Go with Someone You Know


I know for most people, by going anywhere with someone you know, it instantly makes you more comfortable in the environment you’re in, new or familiar. But, in the gym that fact is especially true. Some examples of people to go with are your friends, roommates, significant others, teammates, etc.


When you’re first starting to get into your gym routine, you can do your entire workouts with the person you go with, but it doesn’t have to stay that way. You can still go with them, but start drifting away and doing your own thing, while they do the same.


It’s important to know that you can go together, but not do everything together, sometimes it’s nice to just know you have someone you can rely on in the same vicinity as you.
















My best friend Kayri and I at the gym :) My boyfriend Kirk and I at the gym :)





Tip #4: Avoid Going at Peak Times


Going to the gym when it is packed is annoying and intimidating for everyone, so avoiding or trying your best to plan to go a different time is always your best bet, especially when you first start going and are nervous.

A busy gym can equal being overwhelmed or overstimulated, which is a big no no!!

The peak times you probably want to avoid are early morning (6-8am), mid-afternoon (12-3), and evening (5-7pm). These times will vary depending on the gym, but they are usually overall the worst times to try and go, especially if you want to actually use the machines.



But, if you physically can’t avoid going at peak hours, then something you can do to get away from it all is to pick a secluded corner of the gym and just use dumbbells in the one area. It keeps you away from people, but you can also get a really good workout in.





For some more tips, plus more explanation, watch the videos below!



















--

As a way to close out this week’s blog, I just wanted to say thank you for reading and I hope these tips will help you feel more comfortable in the gym. Tune in for my next blog post where I talk about stretching and the benefits that come with it!


And as always, give me a follow on Instagram and Twitter to never miss a thing, and to get more content from me!


Kommentare


bottom of page